Dodge it

1 Apr

We’re still working on limits in PreCalc.  We didn’t have school yesterday, so it’s been a few days…the ultimate test is always, “Do you remember anything from before the long weekend…?” 🙂

I was really pleased with everyone’s retention today as they were asked to not only answer problems but create their own, which means they have to have a pretty grasp on the material.

One of the questions asked them to create a graph such that the limit exists at, say x=1, but f(1) does not exist.  One of my students said, “So, we just need to dodge x=1, right?”

Sure, that’s not proper vocab, but I still really loved it, because the kid had made these problems his own and must have used self-talk (either knowingly or not) to make sense of it.  And I really love that.  Plus, it’s super descriptive language and it’s something I can actually use when working with students are having trouble.

Yay for the student teaching the teacher!

Leave a comment